Sunday, January 15, 2012
This Art-Deco styled observatory stands on 3,000 acres donated to the City of Los Angeles by Col. Griffith J. Griffith in 1896. In his will, Griffith donated additional funds to build an observatory, exhibit hall, and planetarium on the land. Construction began in June, 1933, and the observatory and accompanying exhibits were opened to the public in 1935. A four-year $92 million restoration was completed in 2006. There is a spectacular planetarium show, a Foucault pendulum, scores of scientific exhibits and a café with terrace from which there are spectacular views of the Hollywood sign and the surrounding canyons.